Just Do YOU

18 Nov

There are at least a gazillion different diet plans out there these days, and if you’re anything like me, they can stress you out, leave you feeling helpless and like a failure.  I’m here to tell you that you have to figure out what works for you, and you don’t have to stress yourself out about it either.  I’ll give you a little insight into how I’ve morphed over the last few months.

When I started out to lose weight, I cut my calorie consumption down to 1200 a day.  I still ate whatever I wanted to, but when I ran out of calories, I was done for the day.  It worked (not gonna say it didn’t), and I was not exercising at all.  I lost 45ish pounds.  I started working out with a trainer, and I HAD to eat more.  You can’t function on 1200 calories a day and work out as hard as I was.  I also decided at this time to start “eating clean” and those of you who know me well know I DO NOT cook.  This was a major adjustment for me, because eating clean requires eating at home.  Here is what my days consisted of during that period:

Alarm goes off at 4:40 am, get dressed for work, fix breakfast, lunch and snacks for the day.  6:00-4:00 work.  Go home and eat a snack and head to the trainer.  Work out for 1 to 1 1/2 hours.  Go back home (barely being able to move).  Figure out what to cook for dinner, cook it, eat it and clean up after it.  Get my clothes ready for the next day and take a bath.  11:00 pm go to bed.  

As you can see, there wasn’t enough time in the day to get it all done and get some sleep too, and never mind having a second to relax.  I was exhausted, stressed out and frankly pissed off during much of this time.  Something had to give, and give it did.  I don’t cook anymore.  I still eat breakfast at home and bring my lunch and snacks to work, but at dinner time (most days) we eat out.  Can you eat out and still lose weight?  Yep, you sure can; I’m living proof.  I choose the healthiest options available wherever we eat.  No, it’s not the “best” way to lose weight, but let me tell ya, it’s better than NOT losing weight. So there.

I’ve lost a total of 60 pounds (this go-round) and if you measure the difference between now and my heaviest weight, I’ve gotten rid of 151.  I’ve tried it all.  The best way to lose weight is to stop obsessing about it and figure out what works for YOU.  The rest will fall into place as it should.

xoxox ~Aimee

Leave a Reply

